FRIENDS ARE THE BEST

AD5

Summer and Life is Easy?

My favorite time of the year is sailing by but before the hot sun leaves we have two more beach trips planned.  Something about sand, sun and surf that soothes the soul.

It’s been a busy month visiting friends. I feel the love and support.  Thanks to Jim and Karen for being such good friends.  Thanks also to Steve & Jamie for the long weekend and pug heaven!!

We also made it to our lawyer – what a relief it is to have all the legal papers done.  As I said before, please do this task as it’s never too early.  I feel at peace that all my wishes will be honored but remember that there are still a few things you may want to express to your family that do not go into legal documents.

If you watched the video from my last post you may understand me a little better.  I can still carry on a conversation though some of the dates and events might be wrong and I may repeat myself a lot but most people still do not notice any difference.  Yippee, feeling normal.

Please remember that Alzheimer’s is not an OLD person’s disease. So many people do not realize this.

We started our new monthly support group and as in the past I was the only female there.  Tom tells me that men Care Partners are not as good at seeking help as female Care Partners so I definitely got a good guy!  I hope we can all learn from each other.  There is always some anger and frustration at these meetings but for those of us living this life that will not change – every day is a challenge.  One of the questions asked was how can the Dr. say you have Alzheimer’s as there are usually no clear tests until you are dead and undergo an autopsy.  I’ve learned that it’s a process of elimination…………they rule out diseases (some do MRI’s and/or spinal taps) that can cause dementia, they talk to your Care Partner and they talk to you and then there are the mental testing.  Since 95% of all dementia is of the Alzheimer’s type and there are no brain tumors or other illness – you have your diagnoses!!  No one wants to be labeled but having a diagnoses can open doors for possible medication, research and clinical trials.  In the past year since my original diagnoses Tom and I have noticed a decline.  Not what I want to hear but I am also smart enough to know that this journey of mine is only downhill. Bucket list – here I come!

Concerned and understanding friends are hard to come by therefore I want to thank a long time friend who went through cancer only to come out stronger and wiser. She has been a great inspiration to me.  She senses when I’m down and her beautiful words sooth me.  She has also learned from her experience how to love and enjoy life.  We both are working through our Bucket List.  I have another long time friend who makes sure to call me every couple of weeks just to chat.  I appreciate this even more knowing that she has struggles in her life right now.  We also have great friends that we just spent a long weekend with!!

Thank you my friends.

Our Williamsburg EASE Carepartners Walk is October 25th .

Please join to walk with ME!!  Donations are always accepted.  Please contact me for more information.  We also have raffle tickets – $5/each for a 2014 RED Camry AND my Walk donation page will soon be on FB.

Link if you want to sign up to WALK: http://act.alz.org/site/TR/Walk/General?pg=informational&fr_id=5706&type=fr_informational&sid=18128

If you just want to donate to my cause: https://act.alz.org/site/Donation2?idb=1731837125&df_id=21953&FR_ID=5706&PROXY_ID=9353436&21953.donation=form1

If you have any problems or questions please email me : slbeach703@hotmail.com

July was an amazing month – looking forward to the rest of August.

 

 

Leave a Reply

