Balance Your Life with Some Laughter

blog for feb 2015

A man goes into an ice cream parlor and says, “I’d like two scoops of chocolate ice cream, please.”
The girl behind the counter says, “I’m very sorry, sir, but we are out of chocolate,”
“In that case,” the man says, “I’ll have two scoops of chocolate ice cream.”
“You don’t understand, sir,” the girl says. “We have no chocolate.”
“Then just give me some chocolate,” he says.
Getting angrier by the second, the girl says, “Sir, will you spell VAN, as in vanilla?” The man says, “V-A-N.”
“Now spell STRAW, as in strawberry.” “OK. S-T-R-A-W.”
“Now,” the girl says, “spell STINK, as in chocolate.”
The man hesitates. Then he says. “There is no stink in chocolate.”
“THAT’S WHAT I’VE BEEN TRYING TO TELL YOU!” she screams.

Balance Your Life – Keep it Healthy

balance rocks

Benefits of exercise and physical activity

Benefits include:
• Improving general cardiovascular health.
• Improving physical function – maintaining muscle strength and joint flexibility can be a way of helping people maintain independence for longer.
• Helping to keep bones strong and reducing the risk of osteoporosis and falls.
• Improved cognition – recent studies have shown that exercise may improve memory and slow down mental decline.
• Improved sleep.

Tom and I have joined a beautiful fitness center but beautiful doesn’t make it any easier for two people to work out when you are out of shape – and here I sit eating a Pop Tart…………BUT it has been proven that exercise helps with cognition and sleep – two things I certainly need! Restless sleep affects my mood which in turn makes my mind fuzzy. Ask anyone with early Alzheimer’s and they will agree – so GET GOING!

This month (January) Tom and I had the honor of volunteering for the Alzheimer’s Association at the William & Mary Women’s Basketball game. We always have a great time and enjoy meeting new people. Volunteering is very rewarding and as we volunteer we feel like we are also helping FIND THE CURE.

IMG_1321

Younger Onset Alzheimer’s

From my 46 year old new friend in Pennsylvania with younger onset Alzheimer’s. I asked if he had something he wanted to add to the blog:

“I guess my biggest thing is do is not treat us any different remain our friend don’t run away from us we are still human”.

This is part of an email I received from a beautiful women I worked with years ago. She is and has always been a blessing to all who know her. Thank you my friend!

“Sharron, as long as you keep caring about what your decisions can contribute to someone else’s success you will always have pleasure. Pleasure is a feeling that Alzheimer’s can’t take away. Your smile is still genuine because you show your teeth and your eyes light up. I don’t know what it is like to feel pain for an extended period of time, so my heart goes out to you. Treasure those moments you mentioned when you wake up and feel good. Deposit each one of them for later…hopefully you will recall it.”

To find a CURE we all need to get out there. Volunteer, join a walk team, raise money.
This is your life, your brain – use it. From my last posting – I will really try to ZIP-IT in February. Wish me luck! BTW – this has been a pretty good month and for that I am thankful.

zip

If anyone is interested in writing an article or a little something for my BLOG please let me know. I’d love to have another view and/or some input.

I’m so happy that Spring is fast approaching!

paintings5366ef5d918f90_22508178

3 thoughts on “Balance Your Life with Some Laughter

  1. I always look forward to reading your blog. You are a good writer and inspiring. See you Tuesday evening. Best, Marge and Hal Gieseking

Leave a Reply

