ON THE MEND

imagesTX2OO0D9

Let me tell you………DO NOT DO DRUGS! I have been home about 2 weeks since my 2nd surgery and OH My GOODNESS the pain was not something I’d wish on anyone. After a week or so of two daily doses of 30 mg. of morphine and two Percocet every four hours I decided to quit. As many know my patience runs thin so I stopped a few doses here and there then decided to just DO IT. I am telling you this for informational purposes but withdrawal is all you’ve read about or seen on TV and more. I hope to NEVER go through three days of hell again. The Dr. tells me I will need pain medication for the Physical Therapy as it will be very painful so I have more decisions to make. Maybe biting on a stick or a big swig of whisky!
This road I’m on now as I may have said before had a terrible beginning, two surgeries, horrible pain but a month has passed and I’m feeling better and ready to start the long road of physical therapy. I WILL be walking by my birthday – May 13th.
Through all this I have to wonder what, if any lasting effects this bump in the road will have on my brain. There is no way to know as the Alzheimer’s will progress the way it wants to with me not knowing if my surgeries and meds have moved it a tad bit faster. This I can not worry about. Live for the day!

images0ZGUUQVT

Simple, Easy and Helpful

There are two subjects I wanted to touch on briefly about Alzheimer’s patients.
Conversation

Conversation is a good example of a simple activity that is meaningful and beneficial for a person with dementia or anyone. It can be a good way for younger family members to engage with the person with dementia. The important thing is to have a connection through the social interaction. Usually in early-stage Alzheimer’s there are not a lot of communication problems but we still need that closeness and feeling of belonging and people in our lives who understand this. Conversation is most important when we get to the stage where we have more difficulty talking and understanding. Do not ignore us, do not talk around us, we can still hear and hopefully we can still laugh.

Music

Even when other abilities are severely affected, many people still enjoy activities relating to music. Musical memory is often retained when other memories are lost. Evidence suggests that music can improve someone’s mood, behavior and wellbeing. Physically responding to the music (through dance or movement to rhythm) can offer a chance for exercise and non-verbal communication. Favorite songs or pieces of music can also be powerful prompts for reminiscence.
When visiting my Mother one day at the Alzheimer’s unit her nurse came up to me and said “You need to see Miss Gerry dance!!” When her nurse turned on the music, took my Mother’s hand and started dancing I was in tears…………my Mother was singing, laughing and dancing – as beautiful as ever. For those few moments I was able to see HER – my Mother – being her self. Beautiful memory. Tom loves music so I know that will not be a problem – I love you sweetie but keep your feet to yourself!
dance

From my friend Ken with younger onset Alzheimer’s:

As I am awake ever morning early and I look in on the girls and wife and see them sleep so peacefully and knowing my boys are doing great I could not be happier with my life and thankful. I will not let Alzheimer’s take that away. In time I might not remember all my friends and family but I want them to know I love them and thank you for all the good and yes even the bad. Love yah all thanks.
In closing I’d like to thank my friends, family, church and especially my Villa neighbors for their love and support. Thanks to my Mother and Father-in-law for feeding us yesterday. We loved the visit.

Walk teams are already being formed for this year’s Alzheimer’s Walk to be held October 24th. Please start thinking of joining a team – my team would love to have you!! With last years fund raising and the help of my team, that included friends and neighbors we rocked! I’d love to beat last year’s total. I do not plan to start any walk plans until the end of the summer so you have plenty of time to join!

images[4]

One thought on “ON THE MEND

  1. We will get there Momma. Stay strong and know that Dad and I are here. I love you. See you soon. Big appointment on Friday. Another milestone.

    Xoxoxoox

    Rod

Leave a Reply

