CHANGES ARE HAPPENING

50party2

I know to be careful in what you wish for………I got my wish!! Hot weather – pool – new neighbor friends and lazy days. I’ve also had a few great days and sleep-over’s with the grandkids. Did I say lazy??? I’ve not been exercising my brain but I feel at peace and that has to count for slipping a little. I am like a child by the time we get to the pool. I bring things to read, as you know just magazines, but I’m in the water ALL THE TIME. I am so happy there. Exercising my leg in the pool is a good reason to get water logged! Right? Monthly socials are fun…the last one was the 50’s

People with Alzheimer’s come in all ages and stages. These 7 stages which I’ve mention before in my BLOG vary so much. No one wants to put themselves in a stage but while it’s hard to read the info it’s good to know what might come next. It’s also nice for your family or care partner to know. Like most things we may not be in just one certain stage. I find myself in one stage with parts of a later stage rearing its ugly head.

http://www.alzheimers.net/stages-of-alzheimers-disease/

To say that summer is here and all is well is wonderful. Yes, I feel better looking out my sunroom window and seeing my plants, birds and the sun. But the truth is that my Alzheimer’s is always on my mind – and in my brain – humor helps. If you are a care partner or giver and are living with someone like me you need to know that my moods can snap in a second. I get angry when I fail at something. I get angry because I know what’s happening and I can not do a thing to stop it. I weep as Tom holds me. As I cry I hope the people who know me will remember me the way I am now. I feel we all want this. I’ve been able to remember the good times with my Mom and I hope to never lose that – but I will. There are so many questions I want to ask at my next support meeting. We are all in so many places. Sharing information is helpful and funny.

stage

As you know I have a marvelous broken leg (this is the stage I fell of) which is healing nicely but is still very painful so that messes with my brain. No one should have Alzheimer’s and a broken leg. What is nice about the broken leg is that it will heal. I will be able to walk well again, I have medications for the pain………wouldn’t it be wonderful if life was that way for Alzheimer’s?

Read this and close your eyes:
Imagine the sky is covered with purple, purple balloons, purple cotton balls and that to all of the purple is just a color. Purple means nothing but a beautiful color in the sky……….there is no Alzheimer’s therefore purple is just a color. I do this several times a day. I also wish pink was just pink and puzzle pieces (for Asperger’s) were something to play with.

PurpleSky[1]

I know many people baulk at joining face book but it has a wealth of information. You can join and look for sites that you find interesting. You do not have to be friends with anyone. You Like the page you are interested in and that’s the only information you will receive. Here are a few sites.

1. Alzheimer’s Association – Southeastern Virginia
2. MindCare
3. Walk to end Alzheimer’s – Williamsburg

This month has been wonderful with the weather, pool and new friends but here is a list of my declines. I’ve not had any declines in over a year. As they say “When it rains it pours”.

1. Difficulty with speech – a mouthful of jumbled works or sounds – mostly when I’m tired.
2. Problems finishing a sentence.
3. Increase in talking to myself – no, unless you have Alzheimer’s you do not talk to yourself like I do.
4. A increase in repeating stories with wrong information.
5. Increase in forgetting names. I HATE THAT! Thank you Tom for being there for me and filling in the blanks.

IMG_0637

Many people ask me how long a person survives with Alzheimer’s. Statistics was used for this model but so many people vary so I take this with a grain of salt because I plan to be around a long time. I want to remember all these sweet people for along time.

The three stage Alzheimer’s disease model

Stage 1 – Mild/Early (lasts 2-4 yrs) – Frequent recent memory loss, particularly of recent conversations and events. …

Stage 2 – Moderate/Middle (lasts 2-10 yrs) – Can no longer cover up problems. …

Stage 3 – Severe/Late (lasts 1-3+ yrs) – Confused about past and present.

61377_537988279563213_517790576_n[1]

I will be sending out information for the October 24th Alzheimer’s walk in the next week – if I can remember!!. Filling out a form to be a walker does not obligate you for a thing, except maybe you will walk with us. Boosting up team members is #1, having fun is #2, raising donations & the car raffle is #3. Last year I set a goal of $1,000 and we went over $3,000. Donation and raffle tickets go to our team total! Please feel free to spread the news; especially about the car………..if you don’t play you can’t win!! If you want to make a donation please wait until I send out the information. GO VILLAS!

10305514_909354802426557_8621983475622155212_n[1]

alzh2_background removed

I am seeking items to raffle off just for the Villas residents – such as a Martin’s gift card, fruit basket etc. If you have any connections with local businesses please let me know.

“Always be kinder than you feel”

As writing gets harder for me please laugh at the misspelling – spell check isn’t always the answer! Please laugh at my grammar but most of all please share my BLOG with friends and family. Have them go to the bottom of the page and hit FOLLOW. It will ask for you email and you will get a notice when I have updated the BLOG. Usually once a month. Alzheimer’s will touch all of us ALL OF US.

IMG_1849

Last note! I was asked by our Alzheimer’s CEO, Gino V. Colombara to do a radio interview with him to bring awareness of this horrible disease. I am always honored when I am asked to speak.

6 thoughts on “CHANGES ARE HAPPENING

  1. Sharon, Is this your email address? I have wanted to email you for a while, but did not want to do it on Facebook. If this isn’t your personal email, send me yours at _SAAKG@aol.com_ (mailto:SAAKG@aol.com) . Sandra

  2. Sharon – You write so well!! Wow, that is a high stage to fall from! So glad your rehab is going well.

    Love, Martha

  3. It is funny that you said talking to yourself, I have been doing this so bad and didn’t even know it was from my Dementia/Alz

Leave a Reply

