CLIMBING OUT OF CONTROL

river

I want to begin with what MY care partner does. Yes, he is very special.

Holds me when I cry.

Hold me when I hurt.

Does not argue with me even when I’m wrong as he knows later I will forget and he can correct the problem then.

Cries with me when I can’t speak as we both know what’s happening.

Gets my medications ready and serves them up in an official hospital medicine cup – one of my souvenirs from my hospital stay.

Brings me ice when my leg is hurting.

Serves me dinner and special treats in the living room when I’m too pooped to move.

Makes the grocery list and goes fast as I slowly push the cart.

Does the laundry.

What more could I ask for?? Nothing, as he is perfect. I do not tell him enough.

Part of a CNN article – I couldn’t say it better myself!!

One aspect of this debilitating disease is only just beginning to register: Alzheimer’s disproportionately affects women.
Early this month, an important new global study on Women and Dementia was released. The findings are significant and clear: Women are at higher risk for developing dementia and comprise the lion’s share of dementia caregivers.
Almost two-thirds of Americans with dementia — 3.2 million — are women. While women have a longer life expectancy than men, experts believe that living longer is not the only reason that women have a higher incidence of Alzheimer’s.
Overall, women in the United States have a one-in-six chance of developing the disease while men have a one-in-11 chance.
Alzheimer’s is poised to be a top health crisis in this century, comparable to heart disease and outpacing breast cancer by a significant factor.
It is a uniquely devastating disease, not only destroying memories and cognitive capabilities, but robbing victims of independence and joy. For families, caregivers and society at large, Alzheimer’s and related dementias are emotionally and financially ruinous. There is neither a cure nor a means of slowing the progression. Cases of the disease are skyrocketing.
In the United States, dementia health care costs are much greater than cancer and slightly greater than heart disease, making it the most expensive disease to treat — and this does not include the value of informal care provided by family and friends.

map

Most people do not get it. Is it the head in the sand or “It can’t happen to me”? Well IT HAPPENED TO ME and I am no different than you. I may have a stronger family history but this sucker can pop up out of no where.

Vacation time is coming soon. We are vacation people as we are trying to pack a lot of traveling while we can. When the time comes to give up my license our life will change. As you know Tom is legally blind and can not drive. Sounds like more cruises and Jamaica vacations. For now we want to explore the USA.

I am working my leg to get it strong so my stamina will increase. Off to the gym three times a week. I do not last very long in the walking category. I believe after my next surgery in January to remove all my hardware I will be able to keep up with Tom – that would be awesome!!

Faith…Trust…Hope…Confidence…Love…Attitude

{1}
Once all villagers decided to pray for rain,
on the day of prayer all the people gathered,
but only one boy came with an umbrella.
That’s FAITH

{2}
When you throw a baby in the air,
she laughs because she knows you will catch her.
That’s TRUST

{3}
Every night we go to bed,
without any assurance of being alive the next morning
but still we set the alarms to wake up.
That’s HOPE

{4}
We plan big things for tomorrow
in spite of zero knowledge of the future.
That’s CONFIDENCE

{5}
We see the world suffering,
but still we get married and have children.
That’s LOVE

{6}
On an old lady’s shirt was written a sentence
‘I am not 80 years old….
I am sweet 16 with 64 years experience’
That’s ATTITUDE

alzus

I hope you will think about joining my Williamsburg Alzheimer’s Walk team on October 24th. I also hope you will think about donating to my team. Please contact me for more information. slbeach703@hotmail.com

So long for this month. It’s been wonderful with the hot weather, pool, kiddies, beach and visiting with friends. I could not ask for more.

Have a happy day and please sign up to FOLLOW (tab in the bottom right corner) my BLOG and feel free to share.

IMG_0308

6 thoughts on “CLIMBING OUT OF CONTROL

  1. I recognize that beautiful scenery, weren’t we just there, all together enjoying a most perfect day!! Great to see you guys, enjoyed chillin with ya!!

  2. Always informative. Always well-written. You are doing all of us an amazing service by sharing this journey. XO

Leave a Reply

