Life ain’t always beautiful, but it’s a beautiful ride

color2

Doing life simple has never been my way

I complicate things then try to hide away

The longer my brain matters the easier this becomes

Will I remember to be sad when it’s time to go away

Much of the information on my BLOG has been hunted and researched to give you different views or a different way to view the information.

As I have said before – it is getting harder as I travel down this journey gathering information and expressing my thoughts and views.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned this in a few recent posts but since I don’t remember every post it’s easier for me to repeat than reread through all the BLOG.  What a life!!  Yes, it does sound lazy but less frustrating. Frustration is something you do not want a person with Alzheimer’s to deal with.

 

Elder abuse on the rise

A terrible subject to think about much less address is Elder Abuse.  This month I’ll list 6 types of Elder Abuse with more information in May’s BLOG

As most of us know this can happen to any aging person whether they have Alzheimer’s or not but being a care partner/caregiver is very tiring.  Below are a few types of Elder Abuse that can take place in a facility or at home.

 

6 Types of Elder Abuse:

  • Physical: Hitting, kicking, pushing, slapping, burning, or force causing injury
  • Neglect: Failing to meet basic needs like food, housing, clothing & medical care
  • Sexual: Engaging in a sexual act without consent
  • Abandonment: Leaving elder alone or no longer providing care
  • Emotional: Harming self-worth or emotional well-being, name calling and scaring
  • Financial: Illegally misusing an elder’s money, property, or assets

 

How to Help Stop Elder Abuse

  • Be a friend to an elderly person:  help provide transportation, home repairs and your understanding.  My son helps out his elderly neighbors with yard work or moving furniture. You can then observe how they are doing.
  • As a neighbor or a friend report suspected cases of elder abuse to your local Department of Social Services or the Police.
  • These people are mandated reporters for Elder Abuse:  Physicians, nurses, health care professionals, persons providing care for adults for pay, mental health professionals, social workers, and law enforcement offices.

 

I’ve talked before how music and art may reduce agitation and improve behavior problems for those in the early to middle- stages and has also proven helpful for those in late-stage Alzheimer’s.  Below are some helpful hints.

 

Use these tips when selecting music for a person with dementia:

  • Identify music that’s familiar and enjoyable to the person.  If possible, let the person help choose the music.  I find that rock or loud music to be irritating.  I prefer New Age music.  Tom knows this and is very thoughtful.
  • If possible load some music on something such as a MP3 player with headphones. An iPod is excellent.
  •  A tranquil piece of music can help create a calm environment, while a faster paced song from someone’s childhood may boost spirit and evoke happy memories.
  • Encourage clapping and dancing to add to the enjoyment.  Those chair or bed bound can still clap and move about.
  • Eliminate competing noises by shutting windows and doors and by turning off the television. Make sure the volume of the music is not too loud.

 

Next month I’ll talk on why art is so important.  My arts and crafts help me immensely.

 

womensprintad_sharronwarren

 

So Sharron, How are you doing?

  • I did a little blurb for an Alzheimer’s article a couple of years ago called “My Brain Matters.”   Since that article I’ve come to realize just how much my brain does matters.  Monthly, weekly or daily there are more and more misfires.  I am slowly but surly heading downward.  The strangest thing for me is that I can concentrate hard and go for a week with most of my cylinders working then it’s gone.  That’s my perception.  Tom tells me that while I have good days the really good ones are not that great anymore

 

  • This rotten leg is the gift that keeps giving.  As I read several forums for my type of leg fracture I find that I am not the norm – gee, imagine that!!

 

  • Relief from my hardware removal did not come to me and seems to only have made matters worse.  My trauma orthopedic surgeon told me within a year or so I will need a knee replacement.  It’s the normal for my type of fracture – the worse the fracture and the older you are things move faster.  I promised myself that I’d have no surgery this year – three last year was enough.  That sadly is not to be.  I found a wonderful orthopedic surgeon who after taking x-rays asked when I wanted to schedule the surgery.  That was not what I wanted to hear.

 

  • The more I talk the happier I am – whether to friends or a group.  This makes me feel as if the Alzheimer’s is hiding for a while and I am the same person I was 5-6 years ago.  That is why being able to talk at the last two Alzheimer’s Walk’s, and given the opportunity to speak at Brookdale and Williamsburg Landing were such happy times for me.  Radio & newspaper interviews are the best!  It doesn’t matter what my hair looks like!

 

I am enjoying life.  Vacation time is here!

brain

THE WALK

 

The 2016 Williamsburg Walk to End Alzheimer’s®  is on Oct 22 at Matthew Whaley Elementary School. This will be my 3rd walk.

In 2015 our chapter (Southeastern Virginia) raised over $735,000 through 6 chapter-hosted Walk events.  My wonderful team – The Villas of Five Forks – raised over $4500 and we placed 5th in Williamsburg – right below all the LARGE corporate teams.  WE ROCK!!  My aim is HIGH for 2016.  I’m sure it will involve a new car!!  Get those $20’s out and ready!

I have a few suggestions for Villa fundraisers. Let me hear from you if you are willing to help, most fun and wine of course!!  I’m ahead of myself as I love to plan.  I am also looking for new items to auction at several events. We need store gift cards (grocery stores would be nice) or any new store items.  Gift baskets are always a hit.  If you’re in the know that would be great for Team Villa.  If you own a business and are willing to help sponsor Team Villa shout out to me.

 

As always thank you for your love and support.

Spring is here with Summer nipping at it’s heels.

fla8

 

 

3 thoughts on “Life ain’t always beautiful, but it’s a beautiful ride

  1. You are incredible, Sharron! One tip I have learned … general anesthesia will increase dementia for awhile but somehow can often recover! I have noticed this with Mom’s multiple surgeries over the years as I have cared for her. I am so sorry to hear you may have to have another surgery.

  2. Thank you for doing this blog. Your insights are so valuable and informative. I’m so sorry to hear that you will require more surgery. Keeping you, and your wonderful hubby, in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

