WHERE DID MY BRAIN GO?

IMG_1929

 

I am taking a little summer break with shorter BLOGS until September then I (we) ramp it up for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s October.  Though I am always so tired, especially in the afternoons I hope my Villa’s Team and my hubby Tom will pitch in and help our team excel.  We rocked it last year!

Our vacation to Arizona and New Mexico was wonderful.  Tom limits my driving and so we had time for the pools and relaxing. Still it’s always nice to be home.  I am more tired, grumpy (HA!!) and emotional when I have to fly.  Watch out TSA!! (just kidding).  I want to see everything but it’s not possible.  I know – it’s not possible for many of us as we get older.  I’m trying to learn to live with it but my brain feels so foggy at times.  Where did the sharpness go??

 

13445285_10154461370464767_1551365091865999992_n

 

If you have a half an hour or so I’d recommend reading this article.

 Fraying at the edges

 https://outlook.live.com/owa/?path=/mail/AQMkADAwATY3ZmYAZS1iOGI5LWNlMWItMDACLTAwCgAuAAADJADrYjbZhEeu%2FZDrpqAUYwEA4XCyDHGDz0K1ebgDPcfC3wAAAEMZw6kAAAA%3D/attachmentlightbox

 

So Sharron, How are you doing?

 

  • On June 19th I rolled out of bed, took my shower and got dressed for church ON A SATURDAY………..then made a big production to Tom about being ready early – OOPPS

 

  • We are enjoying the pool and beach so from me to you – enjoy your Summer!  Heck, enjoy life!!

 

  • My Days are not as good you might think.  I should have been an actress.  My Mother used to call me “The Drama Queen”.  She also said be careful what you write as it may come back to haunt you.  Look at me now Mom……

 

  • I miss my sister.
  • This is HARD for care partners.

 

13394064_1266585013370199_8889447159803753284_n

The 2016 Williamsburg Walk to End Alzheimer’s® is on October 22 at Matthew Whaley Elementary School. This will be my 3rd walk.

In 2015 our chapter (Southeastern Virginia) raised over $735,000 through 6 chapter-hosted Walk events.  My wonderful team – The Villas of Five Forks – raised over $4500 and we placed 5th in Williamsburg – right below all the LARGE corporate teams.  WE ROCK!!

We will all meet again at Dan and Marianne Raymond’s house before the walk!!  Yippee – Donuts!!!

Alzheimer’s raffle tickets this year are for a Toyota RAV-4.  Only 20,000 will be printed giving everyone a better chance of winning.  This is a great way to donate and just maybe get something in return!!  WIN-WIN for all.  The tickets are $5 each but we LOVE to sell them in packs of 4 for $20.

I am still looking for items to raffle off at Brookdale.  They are so kind to let our team participate and I hate to waste that opportunity.  Baskets with goodies are always a great seller as are gift cards or homemade items.  Those with businesses have been great in donating services or gift cards but we need more.  We need your help!!  Calling out to Team Villa.  Please call or email to help out.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

slbeach703@hotmail.com/757-354-3113

Tom – warren450@hotmail.com/757-209-1977

**If you do not have a team you are more than welcome to join the Villa’s…….the bigger the better.  We can help you get registered.

 

As always, thank you for your insight Dear Cousin:

“Maintain relationships.  I imagine many want to hide because they are “not themselves”.  But, my first thought was that it isn’t the person in the gripe of Alzheimer’s that needs to maintain relationships.  It is the people who have been friends, etc. who need to suck it up, think less about themselves and stay in the relationship as it changes.  That is, to me, the part of our humanity that we need to practice.  Every thing changes and we adapt.” 

 

thumbnail_IMG_2449

 

THANK YOU MY SWEET LITTLE SUPPORTERS!!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “WHERE DID MY BRAIN GO?

  1. I love you, Sharron! I will be walking this year too! I plan to raise money as well, I will try to pass my $7xx.00 raised last year. I will join the Villas at Five Forks again, but I will FUNraise on my own. I am thinking of hosting a Savory Samplings sometime at my home. I certainly will let you know when, when I know! lol

  2. Thinking of you and hoping to see you at the next Memory Cafe. Thank you for your postings. We are all proud of you writing your blog so honestly. You are an inspiration! Xo Marjorie Hilkert

Leave a Reply

